Kneeling at the Altar of the Latest Management Fad

When will they learn that all management fads have a limited life? There are no “silver bullets” and no substitutes for good smart work. Worse yet is when some consultant tries to evangelize the workforce into believing in some “new religion” replete with its own rituals, icons, and Bibles. It’s all intended to convince the masses that their attitudes about pay cuts, grueling schedules and idiot managers are wrongminded. God forbid (the real one) that anyone ever gets on the wrong side of one of these “prophets” by having an original thought or daring to question the doctrine. Remember the Spanish inquisition? What an insult to the intelligence of employees and good managers.

Successful organizations innovate. They are honest with their workforce and respect divergent opinions. They do not need to use goofy gimmicks and play games with employees’ psyches.

In fact, there is really only one thing that all successful organizations have in common – they are successful.

2 Responses to “Kneeling at the Altar of the Latest Management Fad”

  1. Diane Says:

    You speak the truth. In my “career,” I constantly questioned management and wanted to try new and better ways of getting the job done. Rather than just putting in my hours, blindly following procedures that were inefficient, I wanted to improve how things worked. I wanted to be proud of my work and involved in it. I learned much too late that this attitude is the last thing on earth management wants from its employees.

    I naively thought management would welcome my initiative. What a fool I was! For years I watched as obedient dullards were promoted while I was barely tolerated.

    Now I’m self-employed, don’t earn much, but at least the boss listens to me!

  2. thecorporatecynic Says:

    Good for you Diane,

    If I had it to do all over again and perhaps in my next life, I really want to be self-employed. I remember when I was about twelve years old, my family doctor asked what me what I wanted to do when I grew up. I had no answer at the time. He shook his finger at me and said, “Work for yourself. You can never fire yourself.”

Leave a Reply

