One Year Down and Hopefully Many More to go!

My how time flies. This week marks the 1st anniversary of The Corporate Cynic blog. In honor of the occasion, I’d like to enumerate some interesting statistics from my blog’s dashboard:

# of posts – 55
# of blog hits – 8,000
# of comments – 57.

It’s truly been a labor of love but also a lot of hard work. Readers will recognize that I’m still a working stiff who puts in over 60 hours a week at the office. That sure doesn’t leave a lot of time for writing. I’ve tried to publish one post per week and hope that all of my stories and writings have brought some insight into the workplace and management issues that I consider important.

In honor of the event – and like all “service” anniversaries, I picked something out of the gift catalogue. Hmmm, slim pickings for one year of service. I chose the pen and mechanical pencil set. (It was actually a promotional item form the store where I buy office supplies.)

The best gift of all, however, was the very nice article about yours truly written by Linda Hatcher for the March issue of Leadership Guide Magazine. Here’s a link if you’d care to read it and visit this fine organization’s website: www.leadershipdevelopment.com. I’ve also posted a copy of Linda’s article under the Recent Articles category on the blog. Thanks again, Linda! I really appreciated you kind words.

To be honest, I’d almost given up on the blog several times over the past year. I wondered if anyone was even reading it. Every time that I considered calling it quits, I’d notice that someone new was linking to it or that one of my posts was published on another website or blog. I’m not one to give up easily but I do need some positive reinforcement from time to time.

So please keep coming back, I’ve got a million stories to tell. During my interview with Linda, she asked me about my favorite post from the Never Fail to Amaze category. Truthfully speaking, I don’t have one. As long as I’m employed in the modern corporate world, I’m certain that I will never fail to be amazed by what transpires there. The best stories are likely yet to come.

Remember, if you want to be good manager and run a healthy organization, read these stories and DON’T do what these managers, executives and companies do.

Thanks again. I’ll be back next week with another corker.

7 Responses to “One Year Down and Hopefully Many More to go!”

  1. Samer Kanjo Says:

    Since I subscribed to your blog some time last year I have read everything you have written. I enjoy reading your stories and comparing them with my own experiences and find they match up quite frequently. I hope you don’t stop writing even if its only once a month.

    Thanks!

  2. Bryan W. Alaspa Says:

    Congrats Cynic! I am the guy who regularly blogs for the online magazine Management Issues. I rely on you! I have written an article congratulating you, but since I blog for a magazine, all of my articles have to pass an editor. So, in case they don’t want to post a link and congrats to you…I wanted to say it to you myself. Happy Anniversary and keep up the good work!

  3. Carrie Says:

    I’m a regular reader of yours now after I found you at Kevin Carson’s site. Congratulations on your fine blog! We need to keep hearing your voice in the corporate wilderness.

  4. Androcass Says:

    I followed Carrie’s link here, and, while I haven’t gone through the back catalog yet, I like what I see. I’ve never quite reached the level of management you have, but I’ve been in IT for about 20 years (and business in general for about 7 before that), and have seen what you’re talking about.

    IT is especially rife with much of what you’re saying, in that nobody who is promoted to manager understands a fraction of what is going on even a month after the promotion. That doesn’t stop them from acting as if they know, of course, so a strange kind of disconnect is created: their management thinks them wise and deep because they retain some buzz words, the people reporting to them recognize their essential buffoonery.

    At any rate, keep telling your stories. Perhaps, one day, the accumulated weight of this kind of wisdom will create change (no, I don’t believe that either).

  5. thecorporatecynic Says:

    I wish to sincerely thank all who helped me celebrate the one year anniversary. Your comments are always greatly appreciated.

    Cheers!

  6. Kevin Carson Says:

    Happy anniversary, Jerome!

    I hope you keep it up, because I enjoy reading your posts. I just finished the one on job stress and downsizing, and it sounds awfully damned familiar. I took the “Employee Satisfaction Survey” where I work a week ago. It included a blank sheet for additional comments, and I filled both sides of it; by the time I got done, my hands were shaking. They gave me a plastic name badge holder as a reward for taking the survey; when I got out in the parking lot, I stomped it into a thousand pieces.

    I also used one of your stories, in a draft chapter of my org theory book, to illustate the dumbed-down management approach to Kwality in most companies.

  7. thecorporatecynic Says:

    Thanks Kevin, I count you as one of the great ones!

    Speaking of surveys, read my post, “If the Employees are Starving for Information, Let them eat Cake.” Can’t remember when I wrote it but it’s filed under the “Never Fail to Amaze” category.

    Keep the faith!

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

